Rejoice in the Lord!

Rejoice in the Lord always, i will say it again, Rejoice! Let your gentleness be evident to all. The Lord is near. Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. Phillipians 4:4-7

Being a mother is not an easy task. Its worse when you are technically a single mother. It gets more complicated when you have seven children like i do. Much worse, if like me, you expect each one of them to be just like you. Think like you, reason like you, but be perfect by avoiding the mistakes you made growing up, because you told them so.

I spent most of my life worrying. I was an expert worrier until i met God.
After my salvation, i stopped worrying about daily life issues. But i did not realize i had taken up another form of worrying. I now started worrying about my children. Will they make the right decisions in academics, work, relationships and so on. Will they drive safely? I worried much more for the ones away in the diaspora.
But last year, i had a test that i would have thought i could not handle with one of my teenage child. I was shaken to the core. I did not think i could live through it. But, i gave it all to God, to say that everything worked out easily would be a lie. I felt unbearable pain. It was as if my heart was getting ripped apart over and over. The difference was that, God comforted me. Through my patient and understanding husband. He listened as i rumbled and wept. However, God gave me a peace surpassing my understanding during this period. I was able to eat, and still be available for my other children, i hope so. I was unable to pray. But i sang songs of praise and thanksgiving to Him!

When it was over, i heard understood the above scripture. As much as am a mother to my children, they are Gods. And so worrying over them cannot do any good in their life. I learnt that, as a mother, all i need to do is talk to them, and pray for them. And cast all my cares over them to the good Lord. Ultimately, only He can save them from evil. And only He can make their paths straight! For i know God cares for them much much more than i could ever! I would never be the “perfect” mom my ego led me to believe i could be.

Humble yourselves, therefore under God’s mighty hand, that He may lift you up in due time. Cast all your anxiety on Him because He cares for you. 1 Peter 5:6-7

Father God, please enable me to humble myself under your mighty hand!

One thought on “Rejoice in the Lord!

  1. The most difficult thing a parent can undergo is watching their children make mistakes that can affect their future negatively. But, mistakes are inevitable even for us parets. Thats why its crucial that we rely on God, completely to guide us daily

    Like

Leave a Reply

