God’s calling on our Life

For He chose us in Him before the creation of the world to be holy and blameless in His sight. Ephesians 1:4.
God calls us by name. The scripture in John 10:27 says that we as sheep recognise the voice of Jesus and we follow Him. After our salvation, I believe God’s call on our lives is the next most important thing. I love that scripture in Romans 11:29, ‘For God’s gift and his call are irrevocable’.

Whatever God called you to do maybe right back there in your childhood, He has not changed His mind about it. As i child, i always daydreamed of speaking to people as they listened attentively to me. This made me enjoy English lessons in class. And i read story books alot, including mills and boon. When I was about eleven, i overheard my older brother brag to his friends that, his little sister, Adah would grow up to be a lawyer. A brilliant lawyer that would turn heads as she entered the courtroom. Having had no compliments growing up, this really excited me. It was like a confirmation that some day, i will be in position of getting attention from people.
For a few months to come, whenever i was alone, i would walk up and down in the living room, on my toes pretending to have high shoes on. I would be dressed in an immaculate skirt suit in my mind. I soon forgot about it.

Dance is my passion, on the other hand. Since childhood, dance is what i enjoy regardless of the audiance, if i like the music playing, i will dance to it. As a child, about the same age, i fantasised having a tall Husband, taller than i would be, dancing with me, my head on his chest. This fantasy got strong when at twelve, my teacher wed a man who was shorter than she was. As they danced, it looked a little awkward to me. My resolve got so strong, i would marry a taller man. But then i grew to be 5.9 quite tall for most men.
I never got to meet a taller man, and so when i met my Husband, after two failures, i was astonished! He is 6.3. As we got to know each other, he told me that God gave him a vision of his wife being applauded by a congregation she was speaking to. I thought to myself, right now, you have the wrong woman. I was unemployed then and all i hoped to do was business to catch up with my “lateness” in making it. With my lack of self esteem, coupled with my belief of being exceedingly ugly with a horrible voice, this could never be me in a million years.

Surprise surprise! Fast forward this year 4th of June, as the ladies in attendance to a womens meeting in The House of Grace Church Nairobi West applauded me, i recalled his testimony over four years earlier. I am no lawyer, but the service God has called me to do, speaking to women also requires me to be smartly dressed and this takes me back to the days of practising as a child. This is an extremely mind boggling whole new experiance to me. But, the scripture tells me, its no surprise to Him. He never changed His mind about what He created me for, or whom He created me to be a wife to despite my messing around and getting distracted from His purpose for me.

Not that i have obtained all of this, or have already been made perfect. But i press on to take hold of that which Christ Jesus took hold of me.
“Brothers and sisters, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.” Phillipians 3:12-14

Father God, may you strengthen my resolve to stay focused on the goal ahead according to your purpose for my life to the glory of your name!

One thought on “God’s calling on our Life

  1. Prayer: Heavenly Father, thank You that You’ve placed a vision in every single one of us. Thank You that Your calling in our lives is irrevocable. For those You’ve called, You will equip. Help us, Lord, to be single minded, with hearts united towards you. As we seek your face, bring Your heart deeper into ours. We ask this in Jesus’ name. Amen.

    Like

Leave a Reply

