Adversity

That was the title my Reverend preached in Church today. It could not have come at a better time, for me.
She emphasized that, without adversity, majority of us may not progress. Hardship is what gets us thinking and getting determined to free ourselves from whatever situation may be facing us. I was recently questioning a situation in my life, which was not working out as i had anticipated. I even considered giving up. But after this sermon, i realize that this is just a distraction. And the best way to deal with it is to focus on the bigger picture. The promise the Lord gave me.

I went down memory lane very quickly, thinking of all the most difficult situations i underwent that forced me to be determined to overcome them. Gods grace is always sufficient. But He requires you to hang in there. Taking a shortcut out is never the best solution. For the same trouble may revisit you in future.

For instance, if slave master had been good to me, i would definitely be a statistic right now. Or if i had settled in the situation comfortably. Even after my salvation, i have learned that i will always face adversity. The comforting thing is that, i now know that God who began a good work in me is faithful to complete it. And that the thoughts and plans He has for me are for welfare and peace and not for evil. To give me hope in my final outcome. Underline the word OUTCOME. This means that the Lord will ensure that my final outcome in His will for me is hope and peace.

This means i have nothing to fret over or complain about. All i need to do is face my adversity without fear, for i know that these are but temporary situations. At the end of the day, they only serve to strengthen me and set my sight upon God.

Father God, may you enable me to forge ahead no matter what adversity i encounter, knowing that You are in me. To the glory of your holy name!

Leave a Reply

