Weights and burdens

For the best part of my life, i was a very impatient person. I was always in a rush, whatever it was that i was doing, including eating.
If i wanted something, it had to be now. If not now, then it was too late.
This was so until God sent me patience itself to teach me patience in the name of my Husband.

From the moment i picked him from the airport, i noticed his patience. I was unable to start the automatic car, and after quiet a struggle, he asked me calmly, are you sure you will get us home? After all, i was unable to start this complicated auto transimition car.

When we went for shopping with the girls, who are expert window shoppers like their mum, he patiently walked behind us through the rows over and over, smiling and nodding whenevr it was necessary and admiring whatever we admired. Three hours later, we broke off to have lunch, he never complained or rushed us. He still doesn’t. I was also captive to television. I had ‘my programs’ and missing them was simply impossible. Anything and everything else was secondary. Sadly, my life revolved around them. I prepared meals based on the timing of my programs, woke up based on it, went to bed based on it. I simply idolized television.
We all have weights and burdens that prevent us from advancing in the knowledge of the word of God, in our faith, endurance and many others required of us.
Your burden could be in the form of anger, jealousy, envy, bitterness, laziness, hatred etc. We should maintain a thankful heart regardless of our circumstances. The beauty of life is that, however bad or hard things may seem, they reduce in intensity with time as long as you focus on God. We all have issues we must endure, and blessings we should be thankful for.

Problem with these self imposed burdens in our life is that they hinder us from living according to Gods will for our life. And hence not achieving our purpose in Him. They cloud our thoughts and sight. If we maintain our focus on Christ and run our race, He will help us keep these weights and burdens off us.

Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles. And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us … (Hebrews 12:1)

Father, i pray that each morning You search my heart and bring forth the areas i have burdened myself with unnecessary weights. That you renew my mind daily.

Leave a Reply

