New Season

Is not the whole land before you? Separate yourself from me. If you take the left hand, then I will go to the right; or if you take the right hand, then I will go to the left.’ Genesis 13:9

Am one of the people who hold onto toxic and meanigless relationships longer than i should. Dr. Phil says, the worst thing to do is to stay in a bad relationship one more day than necessary.
In Genesis, we see Abram asking Lot to part ways with him despite being a relative because their closeness is now creating lots of issues which is detrimental in any relationship.

I have had “friends” whom i know so well are not meant to be in my life. They drain me completely. A good sign that its a one sided relationship. People who will seek you out when they have issues. Or when they want to know if your life is getting better or worse. They investigate and then disappear again. Its like they believe that life is some sort of competition.

Since God instructed me to speak to the broken hearted, i have found so much satisfaction. Whenever i encourage someone, its so fulfilling and leaves me completely rejuvenated with a joyful heart. This has enabled me to discern the intentions of some “friends”. And i have resolved to keep the toxic friendships out of my life. They can only serve to distance me from Gods calling. When i waste time getting drained in such relationships, i shall miss out on Gods purpose for me. God gives us grace and strength to do what He wants us to do. If you are getting yourself busy doing anything and everything that comes to you, you will end up missing Gods purpose for your life. So sometimes its important to sit still and listen to God. Sometimes its important to weigh your relationships and drop some along the way if you have to realize your God given destiny.

So just like Abram, i dont care where i go in my new season which started recently, but with whom? For i know, that as long as i have God, i have everything.
Its important to start a new season in your life. Not for approval from others but for yourself. Will you choose to declatter your life from unnecessary busyness?

Father God, open my spiritual mind. Give me the spirit of discernement. Choose for me friends that will see You as i see You!

Leave a Reply

