Give Freely

Do not withhold good from those who deserve it, when it is in your power to act. Proverbs 3:27

Yesterday during my walk which i do more often in my thoughts than by action, i met a young lady dressed in black and red. She looked perfect, i said hello to her then told her as much. You look perfect! She nearly stumbled over with a very confused expression on her face. Probably trying to decide wether to thank me or not. It was totally unexpected for her.
Interestingly, that is the same look i got from a gentleman in an office over ten years ago when i started complimenting strangers. He was issuing a receipt for me. He had very beautiful hands, not very common among men. I told him so and he was totally confused.
Since then, i made it my business to compliment at least one person as long as am out there. Ninety nine percent of the time, i get the same reaction, of confusion, sometime even embarrassment. But, thankfully at the end, they appreciate and suddenly a confident look replaces the surprise.

Having spent my life believing the people who passed a sentence on me as the ugliest person possible. I had no self esteem which led to neglecting myself. Never allowing myself to own even a simple nice dress. My mind was so set that, i went to lengths to prepare my husband mentally to how gross i looked. He could not understand it, i thought he was in denial lol. Perhaps if i had been noticed and complimented by a stranger a few times, i would probably have given my looks benefit of doubt.
Human beings respond to love, attention and care so well. When you notice someone and appreciate them, you make a very big difference in their life.

Do not withhold a compliment whenever its due to someone! Especially a stranger. For family and those close to you, have something to tell them daily, an encouraging word, a hug, a listening ear. This in itself is evangelizing. We dont have to be on the pulpit to witness for God.

Father God, i thank you for my ability to speak. Please make me use my mouth as a tool to bring a smile and happiness in others to the glory of your name!

Leave a Reply

