What Do You Have?

God commanded a widow to provide food for the prophet Elijah, but all she could see was what she did not have and what she could not do. When Elijah asked her to bring him a morsel of bread, she replied, “I don’t have any bread – only a handful of flour in a jar and a little olive oil in a jug. I am gathering a few sticks to take home and make a meal for myself and my son, that we may eat it – and die” (1 Kings 17:12).

The widow’s immediate response when asked for bread was to say, “I do not have.” This is a natural response, but our big God was looking for an opportunity to perform a miracle. How often do we do this same thing in our lives? God asks us to do something, and our immediate response is, “But, Lord, I do not have the time; I do not have the resources; I do not have the flexibility; I do not have the qualifications, talents, gifts or ability.” For me, my common reaction is to look at what is  not available than what is available. Instead of offering what we do have, we become paralyzed by what we don’t have.

But faith is exercised when we trust God with our limitations, not when we trust our own abilities. If we will choose to put our little into the hands of a very big God, then we will find that somehow we will always have more than enough! Be quick to simply trust Him when He instructs you. His plans are perfect and exercised with precision. Don’t waste time looking at what you don’t have. After all He knows you more than you can ever know yourself. And you can never ever do even an ounce better than Him.

 

Father God, give me a trusting and thankful heart. Make me quick to obey your instructions for You know what You created me for. You have the best planned for me, enable me to discern your voice and without a shadow of doubt that keeps me in the limited circle i have created around me. Amen!

Leave a Reply

