Entering the Unknown

A joyful and fruitful new year to you all!

Yesterday early morning i woke up only to find myself almost paralyzed in a strange way. I had gone to bed before midnight for the first time in decades on the eve of new year. I had struggled to stay awake but couldn’t. I was so exhausted which was perturbing because i had not done much all day. I could not even lift my arm, or get up and go to the washroom. I thanked God for taking over and soon dosed off. I awoke half an hour later feeling normal, like nothing had happened earlier.

This jolted  me to the realization that, we have no control whatsoever over our lives. 

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Jeremiah 29:11

But then, why do we struggle so much within ourselves with disobedience to God?

Even as new born babies, the human race is birthed screaming, am sure scared of the unknown world!  As small children, we scream as we are taken to school for the first time, scared of the unknown. The sad part is that, even as adults, we keep a job that makes us miserable, even ends up causing us health problems such as high blood pressure or ulcers, because we are too scared to step into the unknown. Yet, if you die, you will officially be jobless.

We also allow ourselves to stay in abusive relationships, which in many cases end up tragically, one partner dead, the other in prison. Or, both dead, leaving behind orphans. We hold onto toxic friendships. “friends” who put you down all the time. People who take advantage of you all the time. Worse even people who use you for their own ends. We know, yet we are scared to walk away alone into the unknown.

God has now given us a new year, will you live in this year obeying His call for you, knowing that He is the author and finisher of your fate, or will you keep struggling in the same rut over and over, afraid of the unknown. Just to remind you, life is all about the unknown. You may have your resolution for 2016. You may have your plans, hopes and wishes. But, i guarantee you that, most of what will happen in your life this year is unknown to you. 

Even if your desires are fulfilled by God, chances are that He will do it in a very different way than you imagined. The hardest thing for most of us, especially me, is letting go and letting God! So, i pray that God enables me to let go and let Him!

Father God, i commit my life, and that of my family and my readers in your most able hands. Lord, i know that you are God Almighty! I know that the plans you have for us is far beyond any plan we can ever imagine for ourselves. Lord, i pray that, you enable as to seek your will in our lives and obey you instantly. Your plans for us is for a prosperous, peaceful and joyful life in You. In Jesus’ mighty name! Amen

Leave a Reply

