Waiting

“So Naaman went with his horses and chariots and waited at the door of Elisha’s house”

2 Kings 5:9, NLT

Naaman had been told that there was a man of God who could heal him, so he went expecting something. He was waiting expectantly, in hope of healing.

In Isaiah 40:31 we are  told, ‘Those who wait on the Lord shall renew their strength’. In the NIV and NLT versions of the Bible that word ‘wait’ is translated ‘trust’. Waiting on God is trusting Him. Trusting God, waiting on His timing, His way of working in our lives, resting in Him  all of these are an important part of our prayer life.

The story of Naaman goes on to say that Elisha sent his servant down to tell Naaman to go wash seven times in the Jordan River. Naaman was NOT happy! This wasn’t what he had in mind! He was expecting the great man of God to come down, wave his hand over the leprosy and call on the name of the Lord his God!

Do you see the parallel with our own lives? How often do we wait expecting God to do something in the way that we think He should, and He tells us to go do something that we see as completely unreasonable! It doesn’t make sense to us.

But Naaman had good people around him who encouraged him to do this simple thing, even though it seemed ridiculous, and, through the act of obedience, God healed him!

Recently, i took my mom to see my uncle who is unwell. They are best of friends. As i pulled up at my cousin’s gate, i was told by the guard that she doesn’t live there. I was so sure he didn’t know the person i was asking for, after all this was my cousin’s address, and uncle had confirmed to mum thats where he was recuperating at.

I decided to call my older cousin, she texted me tat she wasn’t in position to receive my call. I texted asking about her younger sister’s address, she replied by giving a general area, she’s not good at direction just like me. She also gave me her number.  I texted her and said i would call shortly to get the directions from her, coz i know she’s a busy person. She texted back and said she would call me. Mom was getting anxious and so i decided to drive around in the vicinity of the said address. One hour later, we were getting nowhere. 

Just then a friend i was supposed to meet called to say she was five minutes away from where we were. We agreed to meet at the nearby shopping center. I drove there and asked mom to stay in the car, i wouldn’t be long. She made to resist but i told her, if God wants you to see uncle today, you will.

When i joined my friend at the cafe, i distinctively asked her if i should sit beside her or opposite her? This was because our talk was personal hence private. She asked me to sit opposite her without hesitation. A few minutes into our conversation, i blinked hard, for i could not believe what or who i was looking at in the parking lot right ahead of me.

Behold! Standing there was my uncle whom we had been searching for with his nurse! I jumped up and yelled, there is my uncle, running towards them. After a hug, he reported to me that he had asked mom to visit him after the operation, she had promised to come but hadn’t. I told him she was in the car on the other side of the parking. He held my hand as i walked him over, excited as weak as he was.

Needless to say, when my cousin appeared on the scene from the chemist’s and found her missing dad, but saw her cousin whom she was planning to call when she gets home, was in shock! I mean, what are the chances? God is precise and perfect! 

When we’re in those times of waiting, we should be listening for God’s instructions. Once we have His instructions, we need to be obedient to do what He has told us to do. Then we can still wait expectantly for God to do even more than all we could hope or imagine! What an exciting thought! If we can get past our disappointment of God not answering us the way we expected Him to answer, we will see how amazingly He answers us. If i had been disappointed and cancelled my meeting? Driven back home? If i had sat beside my friend, i would have had my back to my uncle.

I would like to encourage us all to wait on God in a new way. Wait with expectation for Him to speak to us and give us directions of what to do, and then have the boldness to go and do what He has told us to do.

Father God, may you enable me to wait on you, obey you, and make the steps you ask me to.

Leave a Reply

