Fear Not!

And don’t be afraid of the people, for I will be with you and will protect you. I, the LORD, have spoken!” Jeremiah 1:8 (NLT)

I will never forget an incident that happened over twenty years ago as i was dropped home from work in the middle of the night. As the transport van patiently waited for me to open my front door to safely get inside the house, they heard and saw me scream and run back towards the gate. My male colleagues naturally jumped out of the van with such urgency to ‘save’ me from the intruder, who they automatically expected was a criminal. Before i got to the gate they were running past me. The object of my fear shocked them.

It was a hairy caterpillar no longer than two inches. You can just imagine their disappointment with two carrying clubs they were prepared to attack the intruder with. After taking in the shock, and humour, one of them removed the uninvited intruder from my doorstep to a distance he hoped would deter it from returning. His intention had been to kill it which i of course would not hear of. All my life i have had a paralyzing fear for anything that crawls, snails, snakes name it. As long as it does not have legs it sends me screaming and fleeing on sight regardless of where i am.

Shockingly, just over a month ago i found a millipede in our cabin in the village and calmly swept it outside. Last week, my mum’s help was bitten by a black mamba and rushed to hospital. As i prayed for him in Spirit, i was led to rebuke the evil one and to have no fear for it as God has bestowed His power in me. Jacob was drained of all the poison in under twelve hours, and the two fangs deposited in his hand during the attack removed.

Yesterday, as i and our help are walking in our little ‘forest’ to see the number of trees we should plant, he bends down to pick a black polythene paper covering a hole for planting a tree. He quickly retrieves his hand and tells me a snake nearly bit him. I am standing just one and a half feet from the hole, but am completely unperturbed by his discovery. Now, that is definitely not the Adah i have known all my life. We continue talking as if he has seen nothing. A minute later we walk away. Five minutes later as we pass the hole, i peep under the paper and yes, a snake about two feet long, brown with a few beige stripes is moving around the hole, evidently agitated.  The most shocking thing is, i just study it, our help wants to kill it but i say no, he should not. We then walk away calmly!

Yes, i learned a very very big lesson yesterday. That when we are in Christ, He gives us power to trample upon scorpions and snakes without fearing any harm. I now know that when you are completely trusting in Him, fear evaporates from you. Sometime i have had to do what i know am not supposed to just to make some people happy. Maybe i receive a word of knowledge for someone and i decide not to tell them out of fear that they may be offended especially if its not in their line of ‘wishes’. If He can protect us from a seething snake, from whom can He not protect you from?

Look, I have given you authority over all the power of the enemy, and you can walk among snakes and scorpions and crush them. Nothing will injure you. Luke 10:19 (NLT)

Lord, please increase my faith in you even as you remove fear of anything from me in the name of Jesus!

Leave a Reply

